Today, Michigan's Jim Harbaugh was announced as one of the coaches on this year's watch list for college football's annual Coach of the Year award.

20 college football coaches were named to the American Heart Association Paul “Bear” Bryant Awards Watch List.

The watch list will be narrowed down to a group of finalists in December. Those finalists will then be invited to the awards ceremony in Houston. The award is in its 33rd year.

Has winning the award become a jinx?

Last year's winner, Scott Frost, went 13-0 at the University of Central Florida. This year, Frost is at Nebraska with an 0-6 record, the worst start in school history. While Central Florida is 6-0 under their new coach.

Never one to admit defeat, the Lincoln Journal Star reports Frost said, "I wish people could see inside the walls how good the culture is right now." He had a similar reaction when Michigan beat his UCF team in 2016 by a score of 51-14. The Orlando Sentinel reports Frost said, "we out-hit those guys today...there's no doubt which team was hitting harder."


Here's the full list of finalists for Coach of the Year:

  • Bill Clark, University of Alabama at Birmingham
  • Mario Cristobal, University of Oregon
  • Dave Doeren, North Carolina State University
  • Luke Fickell, University of Cincinnati
  • Jimbo Fisher, Texas A&M University
  • Jim Harbaugh, University of Michigan
  • Tom Herman, The University of Texas
  • Josh Heupel, University of Central Florida
  • Dana Holgorsen, West Virginia University
  • Brian Kelly, University of Notre Dame
  • Seth Littrell, University of North Texas
  • Mike MacIntyre, University of Colorado
  • Dan Mullen, University of Florida
  • Ed Orgeron, Louisiana State University
  • Lincoln Riley, University of Oklahoma
  • Nick Saban, The University of Alabama
  • Kirby Smart, The University of Georgia
  • Dabo Swinney, Clemson University
  • Mark Stoops, University of Kentucky
  • Charlie Strong, University of South Florida

More From 98.7 The Grand