The 31st annual Rock and Roll Hall of Fame inductees have just been announced, and while there are plenty of musical veterans who rightfully made the cut, one name seems to be mysteriously missing from the list: Janet Jackson.

Cheap Trick, Chicago, Deep Purple, N.W.A. and Steve Miller will all be inducted into the prestigious Rock and Roll Hall of Fame next year, but Jackson did not receive enough votes to make it into the Top 5.

It should be noted that this was Jackson’s first time receiving a nomination and, to be fair, it sometimes takes a few years for nominees to earn an induction: This year marks the eleventh time Chic — the disco group co-founded by Nile Rodgers — has been nominated, but they have yet to be inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame.

Other artists who failed to make it past the nomination round include The Smiths, The Spinners, Yes, Nine Inch Nails, The Cars and Chaka Khan.

Artists become eligible for induction 25 years after the release of their initial recording. Ballots from both official members that are part of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Foundation and fans who cast their votes online were tallied together to create the final list of inductees.

Tickets for the induction ceremony -- which will take place at Brooklyn's Barclays Center on April 8, 2016 and will be broadcast on HBO during the spring -- go on sale in February.

50 of the Best Celebrity Disses

More From 98.7 The Grand